DUI Penalties in Wisconsin

If you are convicted of drunk driving, you face possible suspension of your license, fines and jail time. You will have a criminal record and, depending on your driving record, the court may order you to install an ignition interlock device, attend alcohol counseling classes, and may impound your car. Additionally, your insurance premiums will increase.

I'm Waukesha, Wisconsin, DUI attorney Craig Kuhary. If you've been arrested for DWI, contact my law office, Walden & Schuster, S.C., to schedule a free consultation to learn how I can help you.

I counsel and defend people arrested on OWI and DUI charges. Regardless of whether it's your first DUI offense or you are a repeat offender, I can often work with the court to get charges reduced.

OWI DWI DUI Penalties in Wisconsin

In general, if convicted of DUI in the state of Wisconsin, the following penalties apply:

  • First time DUI (noncriminal unless a minor passenger present): A fine between $150 and $300; a six- to nine-month suspension of your driver's license; no jail; can apply for an occupational license to drive to and from work or school; mandatory 12-month ignition interlock installation if BAC is greater than .15 or refusal to submit to tests.
  • Second DUI within 10 years of first DUI (Criminal Misdemeanor): A fine between $350 and $1,100; a 12- to 18-month revocation of your driver's license; five days to as much as six months in jail; eligible for an occupational license after 45 days with the installation of an ignition interlock device. SR-22 insurance required. Probation available.
  • Third DUI within lifetime (Criminal Misdemeanor): A fine between $600 and $2,000; a two- to three-year revocation of your driver's license; 45 days to as much as one year in jail; eligible for an occupational license 45 days after license revocation begins; installation of an ignition interlock device. SR-22 insurance required. Fine can be doubled, tripled or quadrupled based on BAC level. Sentencing must in most cases occur immediately upon conviction; must report to jail immediately after sentencing. Probation available.
  • Fourth DUI within lifetime with no prior within five years (Criminal Misdemeanor): A fine between $600 and $2,000; a two- to three-year revocation of your driver's license; 60 days to as much as one year in jail; eligible for an occupational license 45 days after license revocation begins; installation of an ignition interlock device. SR-22 insurance required. Fine can be doubled, tripled or quadrupled based on BAC level. Sentencing must in most cases occur immediately upon conviction; must report to jail immediately after sentencing. Probation available.
  • Fourth DUI within five years of previous DUI (Felony): A fine between $600 and $10,000; a two- to three-year revocation of your driver's license; six months to three years in jail/prison; eligible for an occupational license 45 days after license revocation begins; ignition interlock device required. SR-22 insurance required. Sentencing must in most cases occur immediately upon conviction; must report to jail/prison immediately after sentencing. Probation available.
  • Fifth DUI within lifetime (Felony): A fine between $600 and $10,000; a two- to three-year revocation of your driver's license; six months to five years in jail/prison; installation of an ignition interlock device. SR-22 insurance required. Sentencing must in most cases occur immediately upon conviction; must report to jail/prison immediately after sentencing. Probation available.

In each case, your penalties could double if you have a minor in the car with you at the time of your arrest. Operators of commercial vehicles are considered legally drunk if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .04 or higher, a lower BAC than that for other drivers. Additionally, the court will order an alcohol assessment in most cases and may seize your vehicle.

Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device

An ignition interlock device (IID) works like a breathalyzer and attaches to your car. In order for the car to start, you must first blow into the IID. If you register over .02, your car will not start. Additionally, the IID records the date and time of each test. In some cases, drivers may be required to periodically blow into the IID while they're driving. If the IID records a BAC over .02 while you're driving, the car will shut off. In order to get an occupational license, you will be required to install an IID at your own expense.

Contact an OWI/DUI/DWI Attorney in Waukesha — Craig Kuhary

A DUI conviction can create a number of legal and financial complications in a person's life. Before agreeing to a plea bargain, contact me, OWI/DUI/DWI defense attorney Craig Kuhary today to discuss your case and learn how I can help you.

Call Today For A Free Initial Consultation (262) 422-6106